(Web site:

December  2001

Congratulations to Lion Gloria Wheeler on receiving a 2-member key at our November 1st meeting.  She sponsored Lions Cathy Rufer and Linda Amman.

Thanks to Lions Gloria Wheeler, Linda Amman, and Cathy Rufer on the excellent meal at our November 1st meeting.  Also, thanks to the FFA Chapter from HLWW High School for a superb meal at our November 15th meeting.

At our Nov. 1st meeting, our club decided on a new pin for this year.  Thanks to Lion Darrel Main for his work on it.

Also, thanks to Lion Denise Oberpriller for her work on the food drive in October at Gerry’s Super Valu.

On Thursday, December 6th, we will have our annual Governor’s Night/Christmas Party at our regular meeting place.  This will be a potluck dinner that night.   Social hour is at 6:30 P.M. with the dinner at 7:30 P.M. You may also bring a $10 gift to exchange if you like.  (If bringing a gift, please specify it as “male” or “female.”)   Immediately following the meal, we will have a short business meeting and then the District Governor will make a short speech.  Following the speech, Santa’s helpers will hand out the gifts.   All Howard Lake Lions and Lionesses and their spouses or significant others are invited.  Hope to see you all there!

Our second meeting will be on Thursday, December 20th at our regular meeting place.  There will be a Board of Directors meeting at 6:30 P.M. followed by our regular business meeting at 7:00 P.M.  There is no meal scheduled that night.  If interested, please let Lion Steve know by the Dec. 6th meeting so he can put in the Herald.

Orders are still being taken for our new Lions shirts.  The cost of the shirts are $18 (for sizes S – XL), $20 (for size 2XL), and $21 (for size 3XL).  You must pay for the shirt when ordering.  If interested in ordering but cannot attend any of our upcoming meetings, you can order one by mail by sending a check (payable to Howard Lake Lions) along with your name and shirt size to: Howard Lake Lions; P.O. Box 13; Howard Lake, MN 55349.

The Mid-Winter Convention will be held at the Marriott in Bloomington on January 18, 19, and 20, 2002.  Rooms are $78.75 per reservation.  When making your reservations, you must pay either by check or credit card.  Also, if you are rooming with someone, please specify which type of room you prefer (double beds, king-sized bed, or nor preference & smoking, non-smoking, or no preference).  If you want to attend and make reservations, you must contact the Marriott yourself. (Lion Joyce will no longer take room reservations.)

Also, you can purchase a meal book for $50 per person if ordered before December 31, 2001.  If you purchase one after Dec. 31st, price goes up to $53 per person.  The meal books will not be sold at the convention.

You may also purchase single meals instead of a meal book.  The cost of each meal is as follows: Saturday Luncheon--$14; Governor’s Banquet--$23.25; and Sunday Brunch--$14.  Just like the meal book, the price of the individual meals goes up $1 per meal if ordered after Dec. 31st.  There will also a Melvin Jones breakfast on the Saturday morning of the convention.  (This is for the Melvin Jones recipients only.)  The cost of the breakfast is $13 per person.  You can order your meals for the convention by contacting Lion Joyce Thorson at one of the meetings in December or by calling (763-658-2012).


The following members have paid their dues for 2001-02:

Linda Amman Stan Holm  Tom Main  Bernie Rohling
Chris Bickmann Darlene Klugow Jason Mapes  Judy Rohling
Jeff Bickmann Roy Klugow  Denny Massey Cathy Rufer
LeRoy Bren  Harvey Krohn Ron Mielke  Paul Schmitz
Catherine Brezina Melmer Lahr  Denise Oberpriller Dean Stenberg
Woody Engel  Renee Lahr  Hazel Oberpriller Tom Sullivan
Charles Engels    Mardell Lemke Tim Oberpriller Joyce Thorson
Tom Fiecke  Vern Lemke  Dan Oestreich LaNette Thorson
Denny Frey  Curt Levang  Don Oestreich Terry Thorson
Matt Grindeland Darrell Main  Chuck Paschke Steve Weber
Sam Gruenhagen Kathy Main  Shelly Reddemann Scott Werner
Gary Hagemann Mike Main  Tammy Rienke Gloria Wheeler
Duane Hass  Nancy Main  Stan Roberts  Welton Zander

If you are not on this above list, please pay your membership dues ($40) for 2001-02 ASAP.  You can pay them in one of two ways.  You can pay it in person by attending one of our meetings or you can mail your check (payable to the Howard Lake Lions) to: Howard Lake Lions; P.O. Box 13; Howard Lake, MN  55349.

The Howard Lake Lions and Lioness clubs will once again sponsor the Drug Awareness Poster Contest.  The contest is open to students in the HLWW school district.  The judging for the posters will take place in early January.  Howard Lake Lions Nancy Main and Steve Weber and H.L. Lioness Marcy LePage will be judges.  The winner of each grade division will have his/her poster judged at the Mid-Winter Convention in January.

Our Lions club will once again be sponsoring a Holiday Lighting Contest in December.  Lion Darrell Main will be the chairman for this function.  If interested in judging, please contact Lion Darrell.


Happy birthday to the following Howard Lake Lion members who will be celebrating a birthday in December: Joyce Thorson (2); Harvey Krohn (3); Jim Stellman (4); Dean Stenberg (18); and Linda Amman (29).